Duke of Edinburgh


The Duke of Edinburgh’s Award is an internationally recognised scheme which is highly valued by universities and employers. Through undertaking the award, young people demonstrate commitment,   develop a range of practical outdoor skills, build physical fitness, grow as part of a team and gain life-changing experiences.  

The Moat School has offered the Duke of Edinburgh’s award at Bronze and Silver levels (for pupils in KS4) for a number of years enabling pupils to experience success, build resilience and develop skills outside of the classroom. Building on this strong foundation, the Moat Sixth Form is proud to now offer the Duke of Edinburgh’s Award at Gold level from September 2020. 

The Gold award will be open to pupils at KS5 (Year 12 and Year 13) for pupils aged 16 and over. Pupils will be required to complete five sections to gain their award taking 12 months to complete (18 months if you do not hold a Silver Award).


Expedition Section- Pupils undertake a four day, three night expedition in wild country.


Volunteering Section -  12 months.


Physical & Skills Section -  One section for 12 months and the other section for 6 months.


Residential Section - Undertake a shared activity in a residential setting away from home for 5 days and 4 nights.


The Moat School , dyslexia The Good Schools Guide
Arts awards logo.jpg

The Moat Sixth Form is a part of the Cavendish Education Group.

The Moat School Ltd is registered in England and Wales. No. 10839082
Registered office: 14 Waterloo Place, London SW1Y 4AR

Use of Cookies

Copyright ©2020 Cavendish Education Ltd

By EPG Design

Moat Sixth Form College
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Instagram
  • Twitter - White Circle